May 2014 Stitch Fix Review


PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. Some of my posts contain links to Amazon.com.

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

I feel like the subtitle of this post should be “Yes, I really am this white in real life!”

So, after last month, Stitchfix and I decided to go steady. And by we, I mean me. And by going steady, I mean I’ve decided to subscribe to monthly fixes. This is just too fun.

Here’s how Stitchfix works:

1. You fill out a Style Profile. My style is somewhere in between “Classic” and “Edgy” with a little “Glamorous” thrown in. You tell your stylist about your lifestyle (I asked for tops with easy access for breastfeeding, ie loose and flowy or button up/zip up), your likes and dislikes (I said NO to fur or fake fur!) what kinds of things you’d like to see in your fix and give them your measurements. You can also tell them what price point you’re interested in. I am only looking for a few upscale pieces, so I went a little higher than I normally would with my preferred price point. I also told them I wanted to stretch my style boundaries a little. I think part of the fun is trying on things I wouldn’t normally buy! I also put together a Pinterest board for them to look at, and it’s obvious from the items they picked for me that they looked at it and listened to my preferences.

2. You pick a day to get your fix. You can schedule just one, or you can subscribe to monthly fixes. The styling fee is $20.00.

3. You receive your fix. There are 5 items in it. You try on the items, decide which you want to keep and pay for those (your styling fee will be credited to any pieces you keep!) and put the rest into their handy dandy prepaid mailer and send them back within 3 days.

It comes with a Style Card like this one so you’re not just getting random pieces of clothing, you’re getting advice from a professional stylist!

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

 I used my style card to put some outfits together with things I already had. This is one reason I like this A LOT better than regular shopping. When you’re at the mall, you don’t have your whole closet there to mix and match with. It’s also not much fun to shop with a toddler.

Here is my May 2014 Stitch Fix Review:

1. Kaleigh Ankle Biter Skinny Jean from Kensie Jeans in Light Blue- $88

These are amazing jeans. They fit like a dream. No muffin top, nice thick and stretchy fabric, very comfortable and flattering. Perfectly cut skinny jeans for someone who isn’t perfectly skinny. I don’t wear a lot of grey though, so these get an 8/10.

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

2. Jordanne A-line Skirt from 414Hawthorn in Blue-$68

This blue is MY COLOR. It might not come across on your computer screen, but it’s the perfect shade of bright cerulean blue.  The knit is nice and thick, the skirt fits perfectly, it dresses up or down and it’s comfortable. YAY. 10/10

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

3. Leya Thermal Knit Short Sleeve Top by Tart in Red-$54

This top had a very nautical feel to it. I loved the peek a boo back, the thermal fabric and the long and lean style. It had a sort of shirt tail hem that just begged to be tucked in to high waisted pants or a pencil skirt. It had a classic, vintage feel, without being costumey. And best of all, this one was Made In America. 10/10

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

4. Augustina Lace Back Open Cardigan by Pink Martini in Navy-$68

This piece was cute. The fabric was light and the lace back was fun. The pockets were a big plus. I’m just not a huge fan of cardigans without buttons. It’s me, not you cardigan. 6/10

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

5. Delanie Mixed Stripe Cotton Sweater by Mystree in Grey-$58

This was an interesting piece. It was a very light, spring/summer weight sweater with a trapeze shape. I went back and forth between loving and hating it. Ultimately it was a no for me, since I tend to prefer more fitted styles, but I think I’ll think about it from time to time with fondness. 7/10

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

And there you go! That was my May Stitch Fix! I ended up keeping the 41Hawthorn skirt and the Tart thermal top with the peek a boo back. They look amazing together, and as you can see, they make great separates too. I think they’ll be an awesome addition to my wardrobe.

I’d really love to hear what you got in your Stitch Fix this month! Any of these pieces? Tell me all about it, and link your review posts in comments!

Click here to try out Stitchfix now!

Full Disclosure: That’s my referral link, just so you know! I’m not an affiliate for Stitchfix, I haven’t been paid or gifted with anything for writing this! I bought my own fix, and I really had fun with it!

May 2014 Stitch Fix Review

About Kelley

Hi! I'm Kelley. Real foodie and crunchy mom to a teenager and a toddler. My husband and I live in Southern California.

Comments

  1. Love your post and totally agree with the keepers. I will be thinking of that trapeze top for me.

  2. Kristina says:

    Just curious, did your tart shirt shrink when you washed it? I got the long sleeved version and washed it on cold and layed it flat to dry and it’s now so small it’s unwearable. 🙁

    • Kelley says:

      I haven’t washed it yet! Maybe I’ll dry clean it if I need to. I’m saving it for special occasions though, so I won’t be washing it frequently. That’s a bummer about your shirt though 🙁

What kind of Natural Mom are you?
Take the quiz!