June 2014 Stitch Fix Review


PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. Some of my posts contain links to Amazon.com.

 

June 2014 Stitch Fix Review

This is my third Stitch Fix! I love shopping this way. I’m actually saving money, because I’m not buying things on impulse any more. I used to run to Target with Darling Baby in tow, grab a couple things that caught my eye quickly before he got bored, and tried them on at home. Then I’d keep them whether or not they fit or coordinated with other things in my closet, and I’d end up with a crazy mish mash of clothes that didn’t go together and sometimes didn’t even fit! Now I am slowly and intentionally building a wardrobe where things coordinate and fit! And I’m doing it in the comfort of my home. I try on the pieces, and see how they work with things I already own. Occasionally I’ll buy a couple things inspired by my Style Card to round out my outfits, but I’m not shopping on impulse any more, and I’ve got the beginnings of a small capsule wardrobe that I love.

Here’s how Stitchfix works:

1. You fill out a Style Profile. My style is somewhere in between “Classic” and “Edgy” with a little “Glamorous” thrown in. You tell your stylist about your lifestyle (I asked for tops with easy access for breastfeeding, ie loose and flowy or button up/zip up), your likes and dislikes (I said NO to fur or fake fur!) what kinds of things you’d like to see in your fix and give them your measurements. You can also tell them what price point you’re interested in. I am only looking for a few upscale pieces, so I went a little higher than I normally would with my preferred price point. I also told them I wanted to stretch my style boundaries a little. I think part of the fun is trying on things I wouldn’t normally buy! I also put together a Pinterest board for them to look at, and it’s obvious from the items they picked for me that they looked at it and listened to my preferences.

2. You pick a day to get your fix. You can schedule just one, or you can subscribe to monthly fixes. The styling fee is $20.00.

3. You receive your fix. There are 5 items in it. You try on the items, decide which you want to keep and pay for those (your styling fee will be credited to any pieces you keep!) and put the rest into their handy dandy prepaid mailer and send them back within 3 days.

It comes with a Style Card like this one so you’re not just getting random pieces of clothing, you’re getting advice from a professional stylist!

June 2014 Stitch Fix Review

Here is my June 2014 Stitch Fix Review:

Cliff Abstract print Roll-Tab Henley Knit Shirt by Tart-$98 and Dean Ankle Zip Skinny Jean from Just Black-$78

This shirt was a really nice piece. The fabric was modal/spandex and I really like modal. Very comfortable and breathable. I didn’t initially like the print, but when I wore it with the dark jeans and necklace that were also in my fix, I thought it was a really cute look that I could see wearing somewhere I wanted to look nice, but not dressed up. They definitely get snaps for understanding my lifestyle in that way, but I felt that $98 was too much for me personally to spend on a casual item. I also kept wanting to push up the sleeves, something about the length just got on my nerves. 8/10

The jeans were just okay. I got another pair of this brand in my first fix and those were way too small for me. If you look closely at the pictures, you can see Spanx lines! I was happy that I fit in to these okay, but I still had some muffin top going on, and they just weren’t very comfortable. I also have a pair of dark denim skinnies already, as well as a black pair, so these didn’t fill any holes in my wardrobe. I requested that in the future they not send this brand, and send Kensie or another brand instead. I loved how last month’s Kensie jeans fit, and I’m hoping to get a pair in white or a bright color in a future fix. 5/10

June 2014 Stitch Fix Review
 Jaden Colorblock Trim Zip Detail Blouse-$68

I’m not exactly sure what’s going on with my facial expression here. But what I can tell you, is my husband hated this shirt. Now, I’m not one to worry much about dressing for my husband, and he doesn’t usually have much of an opinion about what I wear, but if he hates something I don’t buy it.  I wasn’t in love with the fit of this blouse myself. But it definitely had many of the details I ask my stylist for, bold colors, edgy details, easy to breastfeed in, it just wasn’t a winner. 7/10

June 2014 Stitch Fix Review

Linea Colorblocked Swing Dress by Mystree-$48

I almost didn’t bother to take a picture of this dress. It looked terrible on me. And I’m pretty sure I asked for a maxi dress in this fix, (although I might have just imagined that) so this little short fit and flare number wasn’t a favorite even before I tried it on. I had to pull out the Spanx again just to take this picture, and I HATE wearing Spanx! The asymmetrical pattern on the front, and the grey in the stripe were also not to my liking. I hated it. 0/10

June 2014 Stitch Fix Review
 Riviera Sun Rays Necklace by Pixley-$32

Thank heavens there was a winner in this fix! I loved this necklace. It’s different, it looks good with clothes I already own and it’s affordable. 10/10

June 2014 Stitch Fix Review

So what did I keep? Just the necklace this time. I’m happy with it though, it’s a great addition to my accessory collection and I can see myself wearing it for years to come. What did you get in your fix this month? Tell me in the comments, or better yet, link your own blog post or video! See you next month!

Tweet it out yo!

Pin this post here!

PicMonkey Collagepin

Want to get your own Stitch Fix box? Click HERE!

Disclosure: My Stitch Fix referral code is in this post. If you use it, I will get a $25 credit.

Stitch Fix
About Kelley

Hi! I’m Kelley. Real foodie and crunchy mom to a teenager and a toddler. My husband and I live in Southern California.

Comments

  1. Love the necklace!!

  2. Rebecca says:

    I love the necklace… received it with my May fix and have worn it several times.

  3. I actually like the pink blouse; it looks really good with the skirt you paired it with and would look equally good with a pair of jeans. Price point is a bit high though.

    • It wasn’t horrible, but I’ll tell you, polyester and hot summers are not good friends!

What kind of Natural Mom are you?
Take the quiz!